Hodgkin’s Lymphoma: An Environmental Scan

Table of Contents

3.2 Classification of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma

According the World Health Organziation, Hodgkin’s lymphoma has 5 sub-types although 4 specific sub-types are referred to as classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma (cHL) and one additional sub-type, nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin’s disease

(NLPHL) is considered a distinct entity. Within classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma the 4 subtypes are: 1) Nodular Sclerosis 2) Mixed Cellularity 3) Lymphocyte Depletion and 4) Lymphocyte-Rich. Classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma accounts for over 90% of all cases whereas NLPHL accounts for approximately 5% (A. Engert et al. 2009). (See Appendix E for a summary of characteristics according to classification and subtype). Among the cHL sub-types, the cancer cell itself is referred to as the Reed-Sternberg (RS) cell, which accounts for a very small portion of the cells that form the entire tumor. In the majority of cases, the RS originate from B-cell lymphocytes; however, in approximately 2% of tumors, the RS cell is of T-cell lymphocyte origin.

NLPHL is considered quite different from the classical sub-types based on the clinical characteristics. Furthermore, NLPHL also has different treatment recommendations. The cancer cell found in NLPHL is referred to as the LPHL or L&H.